14 June 2017

An Exquisite Debut Novel | Among the Lesser Gods by Margo Catts

ABOUT THE BOOK

For fans of authors like Barbara Kingsolver and Leif Enger, a stunning new voice in contemporary literary fiction.

“Tragedy and blessing. Leave them alone long enough, and it gets real hard to tell them apart.”

Elena Alvarez is living a cursed life. From the deadly fire she accidentally set as a child, to her mother’s abandonment, and now to an unwanted pregnancy, she knows better than most that small actions can have terrible consequences. Driven to the high mountains surrounding Leadville, Colorado by her latest bad decision, she’s intent on putting off the future. Perhaps there she can just hide in her grandmother’s isolated cabin and wait for something—anything—to make her next choice for her.

Instead, she is confronted by reflections of her own troubles wherever she turns—the recent widower and his two children adrift in a changed world, Elena’s own mysterious family history, and the interwoven lives within the town itself. Bit by bit, Elena begins to question her understanding of cause and effect, reexamining the tragedies she’s held on to and the wounds she’s refused to let heal.

But when the children go missing, Elena’s fragile new peace is shattered. It’s only at the prospect of fresh loss and blame that she will discover the truth of the terrible burdens we take upon ourselves, the way tragedy and redemption are inevitably intertwined—and how curses can sometimes lead to blessings, however disguised.

Follow the TLC blog tour.

MY REVIEW

Among the Lesser Gods is an exquisite debut novel by Margo Catts. She writes her story of tragedy and healing beautifully and I savored every page of my reading experience.

Troubled by both the haunting tragedy in her past and the challenging choices in her future, Elena Alvarez tries to keep her distance from the people around her. Yet, when she travels to the mountains of Colorado, she becomes surrounded with a lively cast of characters—her insightful grandmother, a kind-hearted cowboy, a grieving family, and friendly small-town neighbors—that don’t let her do that. The summer proves Elena has a lot to learn about herself and her relationships, and her story is (understandably) frustrating, at times, but entirely heartwarming.

Catts is a masterful storyteller. The story she shares in Among the Lesser Gods is historically set, yet feels timeless with its characters and their struggles. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book and definitely recommend it to interested readers.

★★★★

Thanks to TLC Book Tours, I received a complimentary copy of Among the Lesser Gods and the opportunity to provide an honest review. I was not required to write a positive review, and all the opinions I have expressed are my own.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Margo Catts grew up in Los Angeles and has since lived in Utah, Indiana, and Colorado. After raising three children in the U.S., she and her husband moved to Saudi Arabia, where her Foreign Girl blog was well known in the expat community. Originally a freelance editor for textbooks and magazines, she has also done freelance writing for business, technical, and advertising clients, all the while working on her fiction. She is a contributing author to Once Upon an Expat. Among the Lesser Gods is her first novel. She now lives in Denver, Colorado.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...